new year’s resolutions: part one

December 26, 2009

Life as a full-time mom can be a little crazy. I suppose I can file that little pearl of wisdom under the “No Shit, Sherlock” (from this moment on known as (NSS) heading in my mental cabinet. I expected it. I thought I was ready for it.

You’re never ready. That one goes in the NSS File as well.

I learned that NSS moments happen a lot when you’re a brand new mom, especially with your first child. It’s almost a given that you’ll have at least one moment a day for the first few weeks, and generally it will get better over time, but I’m noticing that going from one kid to two can really throw you off your game.

The thing that really threw me for a loop, though, was going from one sex to the other. Changing the diapers of a girl is pretty simple. If you don’t quite get the diaper on her in time there’s a good chance she’ll soak the changing pad. If you don’t get a diaper on a boy quick enough, there’s a good chance that he’ll soak you. NSS. When what the pee comes out of is pointed up, it would follow that you’re going to get sprayed. This took 3 or 4 times of getting me, the couch, the floor or the curtains by the changing table wet.

Can I at least use the excuse that I was sleep deprived?

What does this have to do with a food blog? This is the ‘mama’ part.

Baking is what I do when I’ve had a few too many NSS moments in a day and I have to unwind. I also tend to do it when I want my family to have good things to eat instead of supermarket crap. I cook, too, and this is where the New Year’s Resolution comes in.

One of the things that I want to do next year is cook. At least 5 out of the 7 days I want to be making the family meal. I’d like it to be more than that, but we’ll see how things turn out. Reasoning? We have no restaurants to speak of in this middle-of-nowhere town, the ones we do have seem to have gone pretty much downhill, and I’m actually quite skilled at making my own foods.

The real resolution here, though, is that I want to try different things. My husband and I seem stuck on the same boring food. I used to be quite adventurous in my cooking but have become somewhat less so since we started having kids. It actually seems, though, that my daughter is willing to try quite a few different things and, in my opinion, if she can try new things then so can my husband.

This blog will be a chronicle of my recipes, trying other people’s recipes, and the learning process of motherhood. I expect there to be a lot of NSS moments.

2 Responses to “new year’s resolutions: part one”

  1. Jen said

    No shit Sherlock! Ran across your blog on Fresh Loaf..welcome to the blogging world!

    • sbrim said

      Oh, I’ve been here. I’ve had blogs forever, but always on my own webspace. This is the first time I haven’t had my own domain and designed my own site in almost 8 years.

Leave a Reply

